Finally Good News

Solar Power’s New Vanguard

Posted on: January 9, 2012

The good news just keeps rolling in. After initial reports that the climate talks in South Africa were stalling, the final

Solar Energy

Solar Energy - one can't help but feel ingenuity (and profitability) might actually save the day for human kind

summation has been pretty hopeful (of course there is a mountain of red tape – but delegates were able to do much more than many believed). And after reading a lengthy article on what the Germans are now doing with solar energy, one can’t help but feel ingenuity (and profitability) might actually save the day for human kind.

After the horrible Fukushima disaster in Japan, Germany made it publicly clear that they were turning away from nuclear power, leaving one to wonder what they were turning to, instead? Well, according to a recent Guardian newspaper piece: “Desertec, a largely German-led initiative that aims to provide 15% of Europe’s electricity by 2050 through a vast network of solar and wind farms stretching right across Egypt and Morrocco,” is the answer. And now, more companies form around the world are investing in this desert initiative, creating the Desertec Industrial Initiative (DII) with the first phase of construction taking place next year. The timing is exemplary.

And as the article stated, the Germans are there to reap the rewards, their banks and companies are jumping on the bandwagon to invest in this clever renewable. Solar energy has been a talking point for well over a hundred years, but now the necessity and technology has caught up with the notion; an alternative to both fossil fuels and nuclear may be quite achievable. Now, it’s just a question of investment guts, and this new vanguard of clean energy is starting to look very exciting and viable now. It’s first come, first served and the Germans are already there.

4 Responses to "Solar Power’s New Vanguard"

First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve
had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I
truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first
10 to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out
how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Appreciate it!

Thanks for the compliment! As to your question, writer’s block happens to the best of us ;-). When I am stuck, I just start writing. I look at the blank page and begin filling it with sentences about the general subject. It doesn’t matter that what I write is crap or won’t be used later. Eventually, what I want to say starts coming out and I just delete all the extraneous sentences from the beginning. I hope this helps and good luck with your writing.

Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I
get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m
not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent blog!

Thank you! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy our blog! You give us the will to continue spreading good news around.

What do you think?

